skip navigation
Henderson, ‘Stoga, Boyertown & O’Hara win 2018-19 divisional championships

Henderson, ‘Stoga, Boyertown & O’Hara win 2018-19 divisional championships

By ICSHL Marketing, 03/01/19, 1:00AM EST


WC Henderson 6 @ WC Bayard Rustin 4
Fourth seed WC Henderson upset second seed WC Bayard Rustin 6 – 4 to win the Ches-Mont championship. Matt Owens got the Knights on the board just nineteen seconds into the game to give Rustin a 1 – 0. The Warriors then would score six straight goals. First, it was Brendan Boyko who tied the game at one with 1:48 left in the first. Then Alex Holloway would score his first of two goals to give the Warriors a 2 – 1 lead at 4:53 into the second period. David Matousek would score his first of three short-handed goals with 5:36 left in the second. After trailing 6 – 1 entering the third period, the Knights’ Owens would complete a natural hat trick and Jack Page added another to make it 6 – 4 but the deficit was too deep, and the Warriors hung on to win it.

Lower Merion 4 @ Conestoga 7
Second seed Conestoga defeated fourth seed Lower Merion 7 – 4 to win the Central championship. Schuyler Dillon gave the Aces a 1 – 0 lead just 3:35 into the first period. The Pioneers’ Frank Konopasek would knot the score at one just eleven seconds later. David Wilf lit the lamp at 4:35 into the opening period to give Lower Merion a 2 – 1 lead. Will Schnorr then would score two straight goals to make it 3 – 2 Conestoga entering the second period. Konopasek and Schnorr would score again in the middle stanza to make it 5 – 2 Pioneers going into the third. Dillon and Shane Leonard would hit the back of the net for the Aces but Konopasek and Schnorr would complete their respective hat tricks and Jack Tabata added another goal for Conestoga to close out the scoring at 7 – 4.

Owen J. Roberts 3 @ Boyertown 6
North seed number one Boyertown defeated North seed number two Owen J. Roberts 6 – 3 to win the Liberty division championship. Sam Diehl and Phillip Shiffler scored to give the Wildcats an early 2 – 0 lead. But Jake Harman, Jackson Novak and Ryan Kuhar scored consecutive goals to give the Bears a 3 – 2 lead going into the second period. Harman would make it 4 – 2 but Gunner Winget cut the Owls deficit to 4 – 3 with fifty-six seconds left in the middle period. With sixteen seconds remaining in the second period, Sean Sutterby would extend the Bears lead by two. Owen Sheppard added an insurance goal with 7:15 left in the game to close out the Bears scoring and give Boyertown a 6 – 3 victory.

Father Judge 4 @ Cardinal O’Hara 5 – Double Overtime
Matt Beck scored 5:32 into double overtime to give number one seed Cardinal O’Hara a 5 – 4 victory over second seed Father Judge to win the PCL championship. The Lions roared to a 3 – 0 lead after the first on goals by John Paul Allen, Michael Roney and Steve Graney. Dominic Corrado got the Crusaders on the board at 4:38 into the second on a penalty shot goal. Then Robert Werner and Owen Newhouse would score to knot the game at three going into the third period. Newhouse would score his second goal of the game with 4:49 remaining to give Judge a 3 – 2 lead. Beck would tie the game at three with a goal at 2:12 left in regulation. After a scoreless first overtime, Beck would set off a wild celebration after scoring the game winner in the game’s fifth period.